Night Of Eid – Its Manners And Virtues

Night Of Eid – Its Manners And Virtues.

What is Eid about? WHy do we celebrate it? How?

Are we supposed to stay in our houses all day and cook biriyani and eat, and dress up in our fancy new clothes? Where is the remembrance of Allah in the celebrations?

As a revert, these were all questions I had, Eid seemed no different to Christmas to me. Presents, nice clothes, family meal, old movies on the telly, but where was Islam?

I thought I must be missing something, so I asked questions, like “How is Eid different from Christmas?” The answer I got was that so many men went to Eid Salaah.

But I am a woman! For a woman how is it different from christmas?

Then I asked different sisters why they didn’t go to Eid salaah, I got answers such as “It is better for women to pray at home” and “We have to stay home and cook” and “It is not in our culture”, and when I asked about the hadiths commanding women to go out on Eid day, there were no answers to why they didn’t. (for more info see fatwa here http://muslimahdirections.wordpress.com/muslimah-matter-circles/women-and-eid-salaah-161012/).

So to be honest, for me EId day was always boring, it never lived up to expectations, I got dressed up, sat in families house, and my husband was often out so didn’t even see me dressed up!

After I moved to my own house, I started going to Eid salaah. The feeling was amazing. I remember my first Eid salaah, eating a date before I left, saying takbeer walking down the street, and wallahi I had tears in my eyes while I was walking, I was so grateful to Allah for giving me this opportunity, I walked home a different route as per sunnah. I felt so light and happy, following in the path of my prophet Muhammad sallalahu allayhi wa salaam. It is a shame lots of women don’t get the opportunity to feel this, to feel this connection to the ummah, knowing at the same time all around the world (well the parts where it is morning) so many of the ummah are doing the same actions, to see the Muslims gathered, the lines in the masjid so packed and spilling out on to the road, the crowds of Muslims walking to and from the masjid.

Instead the women are home making chuna pouri. (I normally make mine night before so is ready!)

This article covers some of my questions alhamdulillah, inshallah it may be useful to you too, or at least  make you think and re evaluate your actions on EId day.

I have used this article to answer some of my own questions below!

What is Eid for?

some people describe Eid as a feast, wearing new clothes, going out and enjoying their day. Eid in Arabic means the day of happiness. Many Muslims celebrate this day without knowing the purpose and the meaning of it; they do not know the reason for their happiness and joy. Muslims need to ponder upon what it is they are doing to serve Allah SWT that they are happy about?

Umar Ibn Abdul Aziz RA, the caliph of the time had two of his daughters come to him wearing dresses with holes in them and asked for new Eid dresses. He RA told them,

The day of Eid is not for those who dress in new clothing, but it is the day for those who fear the Day of Judgment.””

What is the importance of this day?

“Allah Ta’ala will then say, “O My servants put your requests to Me now, for this I swear by My Might and My Majesty, you will not ask Me this day, in this gathering of yours for anything connected with your life hereafter, without My granting it to you; nor for anything connected with your life in this lower world, without My attending to your need. By My Might and My Majesty, I will not put you to shame, nor will I expose you to disgrace amongst those who are faithfully committed to observing the laws (of Shariah). Now you may depart, knowing that you have been forgiven. You have won My approval, and I am well pleased with you.” [Ghunyalit Taalibi Tareeqal Haq, Vol. 3]

Therefore, this day holds great spiritual importance.”

How should women celebrate Eid? by cooking?

“The prophet SAW did not usually encourage women to go outside of their home for prayers, however, he SAW strongly advised everyone to attend the two Eid prayers. He encouraged entire families to attend the prayers including children and menstruating women. (Bukhari and Muslim) One may ask why? Prophet SAW said words to the effect of:

 “Do not deny them of the goodness which spreads on this day.”

When one goes out of the home to Eid salah there are angels present making dua’a, making dhikr, and recording the names and steps of the attendees to be presented to Allah SWT.”

“How do we celebrate it? Where is the remembrance of Allah?

How To Celebrate The Day:

“As soon as one finds out the day of Eid they should start saying takbirat.

Takbirat are:

Allahu Akbar x3 La ilaha illa Allah
Allahu Akbar x2 wa lil laahil hamd
Repeat 3 times or more
Allahu akbar kabira, wal hamdulillah kathira
Wa subhana Allahi bukratan wa asila
Laa ilaha illa Allah
Wahdah, sadaqa wa`dah
Wa nasara `abdah,
Wa a`azza jundah wa hazamal ahzaba wahdah
Laa ilaha illa Allah
Wa la na`budu illa iyah
Mukhliseena lahuddina walaw kariha-lkaafiroun
Allahumma Salli `ala Sayyidina Muhammad
Wa `ala aali Sayyidina Muhammad
Wa `ala ashabi Sayyidina Muhammad
Wa `ala ansari Sayyidina Muhammad
Wa `ala azwaji Sayyidina Muhammad
Wa `ala thuriyati Sayyidina Muhammad
Wa sallim tasleeman katheera
Rabbi ighfir li wa liwalidayya warhamhuma kama rabbayani sagheera

Allah is great (3 times) no one is God except Allah
Allah is Great (3 times) and all praise is to Allah
Allah is the Greatest and lots of praise to Allah (is due)
Glory to Allah in the morning and in the evening
No God except Allah, alone
He fulfilled His promise and gave victory to his slave
And strengthened His soldiers
and alone defeated the Ahzab
No God except Allah, alone
And we do not worship except Him
Even if the unbelievers dislike it
Oh Allah send blessings on our master Muhammad
And the household of our master Muhammad
And the Sahaba of our master Muhammad
And the Ansar of our Master Muhammad
And the wives of our master Muhammad
And the descendents of our master Muhammad
And save abundantly.”

We have to keep the purpose of this celebration alive in our hearts, minds and our practices. Our focus shouldn’t be on how many dishes to make nor which dresses to wear. Our happiness or sense of celebration shouldn’t depend on how many houses we visit and what kind of sweets we eat, rather our happiness should be directly related to our remembrance of Allah and the remembrance of the condition of other Muslims. We should remember our less unfortunate brothers and sisters, both in money and in spirituality. We should be busy thinking about and praying to leave behind a good legacy, to gain His mercy and forgiveness, and ultimately the happiness of entering Jannah.”

Posted on 21/10/2012, in eid, Experiences, ibadah, inspirations, Quran and Sunnah, Women in Islam and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 407 other followers

